GOVERNMENT OF KERALA Abstract

PUBLIC SERVICES- RESERVATION OF APPOINMENTS-DECLARATION OF CERTAIN CLASSES OF CITIZENS AS BACKWARD CLASSES UNDER ARTICLE 16 (4) OF THE CONSTITUTION- ISSUED.

GENERAL ADMINSTRATION (SERVICES D) DEPARTMENT

G.O.(MS) No 141/78/GAD.

Dated, Trivandrum, 15th march 1978

ORDER

S.R.O No 302/78- In pursuance of clause (4) of article 16 of the constitution of India and in suppressions f the existing orders on the subject of the Government of kerala being of opinion that the classes of citizen specified in the scheduled here to are not adequately represented in the services under the state hereby declare the said classes of citizens to be backward classes of citizens for the purpose of the said clause.

SCHEDULE

Other back ward classes in the Kerala state

- I. Throughout the state
 - 1. Agasa
 - 2. Ambalakkaran
 - 3. Anglo Indian
 - 4. Arayas
 - 5. arayavathies
 - 6. Aremaharati
 - 7. Arya
 - 8. Bandari
 - 9. Billava
 - 10. Chakkala
 - 11. Chaptegra
 - 12. Chavalakkaran
 - 13. Chetties (kottor chetties, parakka chetties, Elur chetties, Attingal chetties, Pdukkada chetties, Iraniel chetties, sri pandara chetties, Telugu chetties, Udayamkulangara chetties, Peroorkada chetties, sadhu chetties, 24 mani chetties, Wynadan chetties and kalvara chetties.)
 - 14. Devadiga
 - 15. Devanga
 - 16. Ezhavas and Thiyyas
 - 17. Ezhavathi
 - 18. Ezhuthachan
 - 19. Ganika
 - 20. Gowda
 - 21. Gatti

- 22. Hegde
- 23. Hindu Nadar
- 24. Izhuvan (Illuvan)
- 25. Jogi
- 26. Kaduppattan
- 27. kaikolan
- 28. Kelasi(kalasi paniker)
- 29. Kalari Kurup or kalari paniker
- 30. Kammalas or Viswakarmalas (viswakarma, karuvan , vilkurup or viillasan, viswbrahmanan, viswabrahmanar, Asari, Moosari, and Thattan)
- 31. Kannadiyans
- 32. Kanisu or Kaniyar paniker, kani or Kaniyan (Ganaka) or kanisan kamman
- 33. Kavuthiyan
- 34. kavudiyaru
- 35. Kitaran
- 36. Koteyar
- 37. Krishnanvaka
- 38. Kerala mudalis
- 39. Kudumbis
- 40. Kusavan (Kulala, Andhra Nair or Anthuru Nair)
- 41. Kumbarans (Andhra Nair or Anthuru Nair)
- 42. Latin catholics
- 43. Madivala
- 44. Mappila
- 45. Maravans
- 46. Maruthuvar
- 47. Mukkuvan or Mukaya
- 48. Muslim
- 49. Mogaveera
- 50. Naikkans
- 51. Odans(Andhra Nair or Anthuru Nair)
- 52. Scheduled caste converts to Christianity
- 53. Pandithars
- 54. Panniyar
- 55. Pattariyas
- 56. perumkollans
- 57. Peruvannans
- 58. Pulluvans
- 59. Rajapur
- 60. Sakravar (kavathi)
- 61. Sourashtras
- 62. Saliyas
- 63. Senai Thalavar (Elavannar)
- 64. S.I.UC.
- 65. Tholkollans
- 66. Thottains

- 67. Vaduvans
- 68. Valans
- 69. velaans
- 70. Vanians (Vanika, Vanika Vaiisya Vanibha Chetty, Vaniya chetty, Ayiravar, Nagarathar and vaniyan)
- 71. Vaniar
- 72. Vakkaliga
- 73. Veerasaivas (yogis and yogeeswara)
- 74. Veluthedathu Nair (Veluthedan and vannathan)
- 75. Vilakkithala Nair (Vilakkithalavan)
- 76. Yadavas (kolaya, Ayar, Mayar, Maniyani and Iruman)
- II. Malabar District
 - 1. Andhra Nair or Anthuru Nair
 - 2. Boyan
 - 3. Gajam Reddies
 - 4. Vishavan
- III. Throughout the State except Malabar District
 - 1. Kammara
 - 2. Malayan
 - 3. Malayekandi
 - 4. Reddiar
- IV. Throughout the State except Kasargod Taluk of Malabar District: Marati.

Explanation- In this schedule ,Malabar District shall mean the Malabar District referred to in subsection (2) of section 5 of the State Reorganization Act 1956.

By order of the Governor, ZACHARJA MATHEW, Special secretary.

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general purport).

The consequent on the enactment of the scheduled caste and scheduled tribes orders (Amendment) Act 1976 which has been brought into force with effect from 27-7-1977, the lists of scheduled castes and scheduled tribes communities in kerala have been revised by the Government of India. As a result, some of the classes which were hitherto included among the "other backward classes" by declarations issued by the state Government under Art16 (4) of the constitution have been listed as scheduled caste, scheduled tribes. It has therefore, become necessary to issue a fresh declaration under Article 16(4) specifying the "other backward classes" according to the existing classification. The above order is issued as accordingly.

To

All Heads of Departments and Offices.

All Departments (all sections) of the secretariat.

The secretary, Kerala Public Service Commission. (With C L)

The Registrar, University of Kerala, Trivandrum.

The Registrar, University of Calicut, Calicut;

The Registrar, University of Cochin, Cochin

The Registrar, Kerala Agricultural University, Trichur;

The Secretary, Kerala State Electricity Board, Trivandrum;

The Registrar, High Court of kerala, Eranakulam.;

The General manger, Kerala State Road Transport Corporation

The secretary to Governor.

The Private Secretaries to the Chief Minister And other Ministers.

The Stenographer to Chief Secretary and Additional Chief Secretary.